Current Threat Level in the UK

Threat levels are designed to give a broad indication of the likelihood of a terrorist attack.

They are based on the assessment of a range of factors including current intelligence, recent events and what is known about terrorist intentions and capabilities. This information may well be incomplete and decisions about the appropriate security response are made with this in mind.

There are 5 levels of threat:

  • low - an attack is unlikely
  • moderate - an attack is possible but not likely
  • substantial - an attack is a strong possibility
  • severe - an attack is highly likely
  • critical - an attack is expected imminently
The current Threat Level in the UK is Severe.  Please follow the link to find out more information about the current threat level.